Wild Persimmon Pudding

OK…I know you are all curiously wondering what I did with the Wild Persimmons .

After I washed them and picked off the little “caps” …

I put them in my stainless steel steamer…

But what you really need for this step is a potato ricer… you can get an old fashioned one for $19.00 from Hydroponics Online

Or how about this one from Sur La Table for $35.00…

I didn’t have either, so I tediously mashed the pulp through the little holes in my steamer…

It took a long time… great workout for my arms… I borrowed the wooden mallet from my mortar and pestle. : )

Slowly, but surely the pulp without the seeds collected in the pot beneath…

Until I had about 2 cups…

Enough to make some Persimmon Pudding.

Persimmon Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 1½ cups hot milk
  • ¼ tsp. salt

Directions:

  1. Beat eggs and sugar together.
  2. Add milk and salt.
  3. In a 5 cup baking dish pour the above over 1½ cups of persimmon pulp and stir together. Set dish in a pan of warm water.
  4. Bake at 250° until pudding is set.

Here it is with a dollop of whipping cream…

Yum!  Thank you Sarah for taking the beautiful dessert photo.

8 thoughts on “Wild Persimmon Pudding

Leave a Reply

