Wild Turkeys, Wintery Weather and Change for the Chicks

It’s almost Thanksgiving and these 5 handsome  male turkeys came strutting through the yard. Don’t they kind of remind you of the shooting gallery at carnivals where you  try to hit the ducks as they go by?

As wonderful as it would be to have a wild turkey for Thanksgiving, I’m not going to shoot them…they are just free birds enjoying the forage…

These guys have beautiful feathers…

Notice the red throats…These fellas are Rio Grande Wild Turkeys

The weather is changing…we are getting an Arctic blast that is bringing the temperatures down from 75 to 28, so I went down to the coops this morning to clean them up, put extra pine shavings around and make sure there was plenty of fresh water and food for the cold spell…

And I got to wear my Chookas for the  first time…I’m so thankful for my barn boots…

Yesterday in the new coop, I let the door open, so the chicks could all come out of their box and have access to the enclosed run. One came out almost immediately. The others seemed very reluctant. So, I just left them alone for awhile and about an hour later when I checked they had all come out except for 3…

These 3 really looked like they wanted to come down, but were just to afraid to take the leap…They kept peering over the edge at their siblings who were enjoying the freedom of the run, the food, and the fresh water…

Waiting and hoping that they would follow the others, I left them alone again and when I came back they still hadn’t made the jump…

So, I helped them…just gave them a nudge…and there they were with all the others chirping and scratching and doing their little chick things…

 

Later in the afternoon we had to use a net to gather them up and put them back in the coop for the night. Somehow they are going to have to learn how to go up and down their little ramp, but that’s for another day…

Did you notice the little furry feathers on the feet of the little chicks?

Tonight we are all safe and warm…I hope you are too, wherever you are. : )

2 thoughts on “Wild Turkeys, Wintery Weather and Change for the Chicks

Leave a Reply

