Welsummer Sister Dies…

This is really strange… Anytime I bring treats all of the hens come a-runnin’ as fast as their little legs will carry them…

hens2

Two days ago when I brought treats  they all ran out to greet me except for one. When I looked in the coop she was there sitting on the lowest roost. She never moved…never came out to see what was going on. I figured I would wait a day and see if things changed. The next morning I went to let them out and didn’t notice anything unusual. She may have been sitting on the roost, but I was busy breaking ice and getting water. Around 11 that morning I went back down to the coop and there she was dead. She looked as if she had just died and fallen off the roost and was lying there on the floor. I was so shocked!

I never came up with a name for two of the Welsummers…I just called them the Welsummer sisters.  She was the one with the smallest comb.

Welsummer copy

Has anything like this happened to anyone out there?

16 thoughts on “Welsummer Sister Dies…

  1. Wow, I’m sorry about that! 😦 We had a couple of our hens suddenly die too a while back but we figured it might be because they had gotten into the trash bin and eaten a pieces of foam the day before when free ranging. I will have to ask my brother if he might now!

    Like

      • My brother(also known as the chicken man in our family ) said the only thing he could think of, besides complications when hens first begin laying(I had no idea that there was such thing until he told me that today but it is true. A hen can die due to complication when laying 😐 ) is that she would have eaten something she wasn’t suppose to. But it seems as if you keep them pretty well ordered so I am not sure that is it. Wish I had a better answer!!

        Like

        • This hen was an older hen, she had been laying before, according to the owner, and when I bought the 6 hens they were moulting. Could it be possible that she had a problem laying when she was starting up again? And is there anything you can do to help a hen in a case like that? Then again she could have eaten something, because they do free forage…it would be hard to figure that one out.

          Like

          • It’s called “egg binding” but I am not sure if it can happen after the hen has successfully laid an egg. That is a good question! Here is a really good link that gives some tips and treatments for egg binding: http://www.avianweb.com/eggbinding.html

            Definitely hard to figure out if they did get into something when free ranging. We knew for sure our hens got into the foam because we caught them in the act. 🙂

            Like

          • P.S. signs of egg binging include: Loss of appetite, depression, abdominal straining, and sitting fluffed on the bottom of the cage.
            Wow… never thought I would be having a chicken conversation and enjoying it!! 😉

            Like

          • That was a very interesting article. It did say that older hens could have a problem with egg binding. I’m not sure what “old” would be. It’s interesting that it said to keep the hen warm. The night before she died the temperatures had dropped to 19 degrees.

            I am thinking that a calcium supplement, as recommended, might be a good idea for the other hens.

            Thanks so much to you and your brother for the info. Sage is always astounded that I have this interest in chickens…it isn’t the norm for me. I’m glad you are enjoying it, too. 🙂

            Like

  2. Yes we have had the same thing. One minute they are OK, the next they look a bit disinterested and standing alone,and the next day dead. Sorry to hear this has happened to one of yours, but we have had 4 go like that over 2 years now, I think it just happens.

    Like

Leave a Reply

