Wry Tail

Have you ever heard of this? Wry tail? I hadn’t until now. One of my Black Marans pullets has wry tail…

Uno

I just noticed this a few days ago and I wondered if maybe she was egg bound, or perhaps had broken her back, or maybe a rooster had hurt her. I spent hours looking for answers and finally googled crooked tail and that brought up the term wry tail.

Wry tail : a tail turned to one side by accidental or other deformity .

Here is an illustration from poultrymatters.com…

wrytailedcockandhen

From what I’ve read this is a genetic deformity, and you should avoid breeding this bird, but that they should not have problems laying. According to the above definition it could also be caused by accidental trauma, I would imagine this term would just cover any tail that is crooked.

I really don’t know, but I do think it is strange that this only became apparent a few days ago and the pullet is about 5 1/2 months old. Other than the crooked tail she seems fine.  I guess we’ll see how this all turns out…and I think this may be Uno my first layer.

One of my blurry shots :)…but it shows the wry tail really well…

Uno 2

Anyone else have experience with this?

9 thoughts on “Wry Tail

  1. We’ve also got a hen with a wonky tail. I must admit I didn’t think anything of it,and it doesn’t seem to worry her or stop her laying. I’d never heard the term “Wry tail” tho’. The others don’t pick on her at all.

    Like

    • Yes, she seems to get along fine with everyone. Just after I posted this I went down to the coop and found her standing above the egg she just laid. So she is the first one to be laying of the 4 pullets I have. Unfortunately I didn’t have my camera and missed this awesome moment. Maybe I can catch it tomorrow. 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks for stopping by…I took a chance that not everyone would know about this and that maybe someone would be like me and wouldn’t have heard of this before. I’m glad you saw it! Let me know if you find one in your barnyard. 😉

      Like

  2. She could have had an accident of some sort that whacked it out of place. As long as she is okay with it, it’s not a problem. 🙂

    Like

  3. I have a couple splash Marans that have the crooked or down pointed tail and I’m wondering if it might by wry tail? Did it ever go away with your black Marans?

    Like

Leave a Reply

