My Potato Experiment

Thelma from My West Coast Garden comes up with such great ideas and this one was from her blog that I reblogged on here a couple of weeks ago. Now that I finally have time to sit down and write a post after spending a week in the mountains moving out of the house up there and haulingย  all the boxes and furniture we packed back home…

I was truly exhausted, but nothing like the exhaustion that hit me after my 3 adult children left Colorado the next day in a blizzard of a storm that howled across the plains and shut down the highways. These three kept coming on back roads until about 1 o’clock at night when the 4-Runner rolled and they were stuck by the side of the road in the freezing cold blowing snow for 5 hours while their hero-dad risked his life to come to the rescue in his big trusty 4 wheel drive truck.

In the meantime I am fighting fear and anxiety, praying continually all through the night. But it was a miracle. The 3 came out without a scratch, but the car is totaled. We are all praising God!ย  I just don’t snap back from all that like I should.

Finally today I am feeling normal and I did plant the potatoes a couple of days ago…so here we go…

potatoes

I had these 3 great 15-20 gallon buckets leftover from my son’s landscaping business and straw from the barn…

potatoes4

Placed the straw in the bottom of the pots…

Then I added compost from our compost pile…

potatoes5

And a mixture of Organic garden soil…

potatoes 2

Peat moss…

potatoes 3 And Vermiculite…

vermicilite

This is the first time ever that I’ve used Vermiculite…very interesting!

I cut the potatoes…Yukon Gold…

potatoes6

And placed them shoot side up on the soil mixture…

potatoes7

And then topped it off with 2 more inches of garden soil. I have seed potatoes left over so I’m going to put out a row of them in the garden next week.

These buckets are in the greenhouse right now, and when it gets too warm I can move them. So cool! I’m really excited to see how this goes.

Thank you, Thelma, for sharing these great garden ideas.

9 thoughts on “My Potato Experiment

  1. So happy to hear that your family is alright , how lucky..that must have been hoorible waiting to hear how they were!
    Your pots look great ! I cant wait to see how they progress ! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Well, joy truly came in the morning when they all got home and were all OK. ๐Ÿ™‚

      It will be fun to compare pots. I planted a row of potatoes in the garden this morning and I still have some leftover.

      How many pots did you plant?

      Like

      • Oh boy, just saw that I hadnt clicked on the notice for follow up.
        I can only imagine the relief you felt ๐Ÿ™‚
        Yes that will be fun ! I planted 18 pots. thinking now that I should had saved some for a later crop

        Like

  2. Pingback: Tomatoes and Potatoes | Rosemary, Lavender and Thyme

  3. Pingback: Sneak Peek… | Rosemary, Lavender and Thyme

  4. Pingback: The Goods | Rosemary, Lavender and Thyme

Leave a Reply

