It’s April

Time is flying by… It’s April already and here’s my garden update…

Added more border to the strawberry bed…

border

border 2

Planted cilantro, carrot and beet seeds…

seeds

Found some garlic growing in a big clump, so I transplanted it next to the garlic that was already in the bed…

garlic

Peas are coming right along…

peas

Red lettuce and parsley in the greenhouse…

lettuce

And kale…

kale

Tomatoes and peppers under the gro lights…

peppers and tomatoes

I don’t really know what went wrong with the tomatoes, but I ended up thinning them out and throwing out half of them that seemed unhealthy and some that had white leaves. Perhaps they were too close to the lights, or maybe it got too cold. I’m really not sure…

tomatoes

Looking kind of bare…but we still have about 40 tomato plants. I also started some sunflowers and fennel.

My son found some hanging tomato planters at a garage sale for 3 for $10.00. We bought 6 of them.

You can also grow strawberries and cucumbers in these Topsy Turvy planters.

Now the most exciting thing that happened here this week is the pergola that my son built…He measured everything so carefully…

pergola copy

pergola 2

And here it is almost done…

pergola 3

So proud of my son. He did a great job!  LOVE IT!

pots2

Until next time…

6 thoughts on “It’s April

    • Yes…there is a lot to do around here, but I love doing it before it gets hot, that is…and by hot I mean 80 degrees. By the time it is in the 90s, I’m in the air-conditioning. I thank God all the time for air-conditioning!

      Like

Leave a Reply

