Linens and things…

So what does this have to do with gardening? Well, linen is made from flax and flax seeds have to be grown to make the plant which is then processed and spun and woven into fabric.

Here’s a lovely little video showing how they did it in the old days…

I never knew it was done this way, did you?

This post if for my very special blog friend Stacey at
down to earth digs who used linen as a backdrop for one of her amazing photos.

I have inherited a few pieces of very unique linen that I want to share…

I’m not sure where this piece is from originally, but the texture is not as fine as other linen having more of a raw flax feel about it…

linen1

Just showing how the edge is finished, but here is the cloth itself embroidered with tiny wooden beads…

linen2

The next two are small tablecloths that belonged to my grandmother. They are from Sweden…

IMG_7856 A closer shot…linen4

I can’t imagine how a pattern this intricate is woven.

And here is another tablecloth from Sweden…

linen5

And a closer look…

IMG_7861

So, there you have it…an amazing process to get an amazing product.

OK, Stacey, it’s your turn. : )

9 thoughts on “Linens and things…

  1. How sweet are you?! You made my day!!!
    Those beautiful linens, what treasures.
    My love of linens started when I took a coarse in college called
    Textiles and Fabrics, it was an art credit that I had no idea what I was going to learn. To this day it’s probably the one class that I absorbed “everything”. I learned the origins and how to’s of natural fibers. Wool, cotton, flax, linen, silk….I officially became a polyester hater!!!
    šŸ™‚

    Like

      • In that class we took the wool, directly shirred from the sheep through the entire process. We used a drop spindle and a spinning wheel.
        We learned how to set up a loom and where required to weave a piece at least 25″ long. I still have the piece I wove, using a natural color linen and some raw silk from silk worm cacoons for a few stripes.
        We dyed naturally too!
        Seriously, best college coarse EVER!

        Like

        • Sounds like a fantastic course! I will inherit a spinning wheel that belonged to my Swedish great grandmother, so I wanted to learn to spin so that I would know how to use it. I bought and carded the wool, and tried my hand at dying it and I really loved spinning, even using the yarn I spun to knit some hats and mittens. Someday, I’ll have to get back to it. šŸ™‚

          I also have my mother’s floor loom and I’m hoping my daughter will learn how to use that, and then maybe I can do a little weaving too.

          I’ve never sheered a sheep, though…

          Like

          • That would be fun!

            I’ve never done rug hooking. Don’t you just love having a wooly project to do on those cold winter evenings in front of a nice warm fire…and a cup of hot chocolate…Love it!

            Maybe you could post some of the dyed wool you do??? I would love to see it!

            I have a friend who just recently went to a fiber class and they died wool with kool-aid in a zip lock. The colors were actually amazing…loved the beautiful aqua blue and raspberry reds. Who would have thought?

            Like

Leave a Reply

