Wildflowers

I know I’ve said over and over again here on this blog what a beautiful summer we are having here in Oklahoma, but today I was just in awe of the most incredible wildflowers growing everywhere. Never have I seen these growing here, and I don’t even know what they are called. I took my trusty bike and rode out to gather wildflowers for a bouquet…

bike

Let me tell you the story about this bike. It used to be my mother’s, but about 10 years ago when she was 84, she decided she was too old to ride the bike, plus where she lives the roads are all gravel. So we inherited the bike, and it sat behind the shop for years.ย  I have a nice mountain bike of my own, but just this spring we were thinking of getting rid of this little gem, and I decided to keep it. I ride it down to check on the chickens…I ride across our large pasture to pick tomatoes from our tomato patch. And, best of all I have to ride it uphill to get back toย  my house and it’s quite a workout. In the basket I can carry eggs…or produce from the garden…or flowers. I have fallen in love with this little bike!

Speaking of tomatoes…we are getting lots of them…

tomatoes

I have been watching the Sedum Autumn Joy start it’s blossoming out. I love the way it starts out green, then white and then darkens to a rusted mauve color…

butterfly

I took this picture with my new camera… love the way the butterfly came out so clear…

So here is the finished bouquet of all wildflowers…

bouquet

white

purple

yellow

yellow flower

Does anyone know the names for these?

I took a photo of my lavender too…I love lavender!

lavender

11 thoughts on “Wildflowers

  1. Wow, you are right, beautiful wild flowers! You seem to have a talent for flower arranging! You gave me an idea for that retired bike in the garage too. OMG, why didn’t I think of this before! I just bought a new bike, the old one is perfect for going back and forth to the barn. I guess I didn’t want to leave a bike out in the weather, but who cares if it’s not being used anyway. Thank you for the idea! Best part, I have a huge basket for it hanging in the garage, oh this is exciting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

