Fennel

When I was a young girl growing up in the beautiful hills of Marin County, California, I used to walk up to the railroad tracks that were nearby. and I would always smell luscious whiffs of a licorice coming from the ferny looking plants that grew wild in the fields.

22b1b77233f90392caa58a2aaf27ea77

I didn’t know that they were fennel until I was an adult. Do you ever smell something that reminds you of your childhood? Every time I would smell anise or fennel I would think of my childhood, and I never knew why until I visited California when my grand-daughter was born and just happened to catch that whiff while I was on a walk and then saw the beautiful wild fennel plant.

Fennel has so many medicinal and nutritional benefits. It is really worth growing this great plant.

Foeniculum_vulgare_-_Köhler–s_Medizinal-Pflanzen-148Fennel helps digestion, reduces water retention, and is a good source of potassium, magnesium, calcium and vitamins B and C.

For women, fennel is said to relieve menstrual cramps, increase milk flow when lactating, and helps regulate hormones.

To see more uses for fennel read this article at B4tea.

GardenFennel

And here is a great Martha Stewart video about growing fennel with some really cool raised bed tips…

How to Grow Fennel in Your Garden

Fennel tea anyone?

IMG_2498

It’s so easy…just boil some water…add a few fennel seeds and let it steep. You can drink the wonderful licorice tasting beverage and eat the softened seeds. So good for you!

More info on How to Grow Fennel at herbgardening.com

9 thoughts on “Fennel

Leave a Reply

