Oatgrass and Wisteria and Lamb’s Quarters

Love the way this oatgrass is looking in this large blue ceramic planter…

oatgrass

And the wisteria I planted last year is blooming…

Wisteria

We planted 52 tomato plants  the day before yesterday. More than we have ever planted before, but we still are lacking rain. Perhaps a thunderstorm tonight. I sure hope so. 🙂

tomatoes

Has anyone tried Lamb’s Quarters?

lambs

We have a huge patch, and this is an incredible food that tastes something like spinach. You can eat it in salads or cook it, just like you would spinach. It’s actually better than spinach in my opinion.

Instead of writing about it myself, I’ll link you to a blog with more facts about this incredible weed/food… The Prairie Homestead

Bon appetit  🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Oatgrass and Wisteria and Lamb’s Quarters

  1. My wisteria is also flowering for the first time in 4 years, since we got it. Its not huge but hopefully will grow bigger in time. Good luck with all the tomatoes, that’s a lot you have planted out, you should get a great harvest.

    Like

  2. I would love to plant a vegetable garden, but my wooded yard doesn’t yield enough sun. I have to stick with shade loving plants. I do love my trees, but would love to have more sun loving flowers.
    Also, there’s nothing better than a fresh tomato from the garden. I’m jealous!

    Like

    • I have a lot of shade as well. This year we are planting our tomatoes in a new plot where an old barn stood that we had to tear down last year. I think there will be plenty of sun there. I hope… 🙂

      Like

  3. Everything looks great! Love Wisteria! 52 tomatoes, that’s awesome! I have 34 , 8 varieties , 5 of them I’ve never grown before 🙂 I wish I had room for more, I keep wondering if we really need a front lawn..lol

    Like

    • A lot of people have been transforming their front lawns into gardens… I am trying to transform my backyard, but I have to tell you it is looking pretty sorry right now. I might have to rethink this. 😉

      Like

Leave a comment