Surprise in the Hen House : )

Yesterday, I just happened to look in the nesting boxes and the same old wooden eggs were sitting there… everything the same since the day we put the straw in…It’s been almost 3 months since we bought these hens and not one egg. I even sing to them and ask them kindly if they won’t just lay one little egg for me…

Then I noticed one of the nesting boxes looked different.  The wooden eggs had been pushed to the front and the straw shoved over to the sides leaving a bare circle of wood in the center…

IMG_5434 copy

Today the weather has warmed up a bit and I really needed to clean up the chicks’ coop. I’m down there with the wheel barrow shoveling all the “ick n poop” out of the coop…chicks flying around playing pecking order games in the sunshine…pine shavings fluttering in the air everywhere…

Finishing up with a dusting of diatomaceous earth, I took a peek in the hen’s coop and what to my wondering eyes do I behold?

I thought the wooden eggs were light brown???  Let’s see…I put 4 in there and there are 6!  Wow! Unbelievable…our first 2 eggs!!!

IMG_5437

And they are big!!!  : )